Athletic Department Honored for Achievements

87E1B7D8-4DDA-4369-A5E6-63D34ADD3913.jpg thumbnail158843

The district Board of Education had the pleasure of recognizing several achievements within its athletic department during the Board of Education meeting.

Director of Athletics David Barth kicked off the celebrations by honoring district Athletic Secretary Arianne Millar, as she was the recipient of the Bondene Westring Award from the Nassau County Athletic Directors Association. Mrs. Millar earned this award for displaying devotion to duty, commitment to excellence and a love of children.

Mr. Barth also announced the Junior-Senior High School’s spring scholar-athletes and teams that earned the distinction as New York State Scholar-Athlete Team. The varsity teams including girls track and field, softball, girls lacrosse and badminton. This prestigious state award is presented to teams who cumulatively achieved a 90 percent grade point average or better during the competing season. 

Individual scholar-athletes who were highlighted for their efforts on and off the field were Chris Perri, Matt Perri, Bryan Morgenthaler, Edward McCann IV, Laura Millar, Mimi Bilardello, Hunter Vertuccio, Siobhan Perini and Emily Chelius. Each athlete was presented with an award of excellence certificate.

In addition, the girls varsity softball and boys varsity baseball teams were revered for their effort in executing a successful season, with the girls softball team named the Class B Long Island Champions and the baseball team named conference champions.

The district congratulates all who demonstrated hard work and determination throughout the spring season.