Arts Program Highlights Young East Rockaway Talent

022819_nufwubh.jpg thumbnail158659
2(7).jpg thumbnail158660
3(5).jpg thumbnail158661
Students at Centre Avenue and Rhame Avenue elementary schools were presented with certificate awards during the Board of Education meeting for their participation in this year’s PTA Reflections Arts Program. 

Run by the National PTA, the acclaimed student recognition program is a volunteer arts program and contest that encourages artistic creativity in the classroom and at home. With this year’s theme “Heroes Around Me,” student participants created original works of art within several categories, such as dance, choreography, film production, literature, music composition, photography and visual arts.

From the 47 students who participated in the program, 15 of them advanced to the Nassau County level. The Rhame Avenue students who advanced are Ayesha Aibani, Adriana DeMatteo, Isabella Gallina, Amy Gamache, Vanessa Hansraj, Joven Lancelot, Maya Motherway, Joseph Petraro and Christopher Sugrue. The Centre students who advanced are Edwin Espinoza, Atticus Gamache, Eileen Harvey, Mary Harvey, Kaitlyn Lewald and Julia Sidelman.

Rhame sixth-grader Maya Motherway advanced to the New York State level of the contest for her piece, “My Heroes.” 

“The creativity that was demonstrated by our students was amazing,” said Centre Principal Sherry Ma. 

Rhame Principal Erik Walter also added, “We are very proud of all of the students who participated on their own time and commend them on their hard work and dedication to this project. I want to also thank the parents and teachers involved for helping the students bring their artistic ideas to life.”

Superintendent of Schools Lisa Ruiz also congratulated students on their artwork. “Your work was truly amazing,” she said. “We can’t wait for you to advance to the high school level and take advantage of all our advanced art programs because a lot of you are ready.”

The district also recognized judges Michaeline Cooper, Town of Hempstead Councilman Anthony D’Esposito, Heather Massa and Dr. Richard Meagher for their efforts.