Board Honors Students and Retirees


Student achievement, retirement recognition and the granting of tenure took center stage at East Rockaway’s Board of Education meeting on June 14.

The evening kicked off with student-musicians being honored for receiving New York State School Music Association and New York State Council of Administrators of Music Education awards. It continued with the acknowledgment of East Rockaway Junior-Senior High School’s Poetry Contest winners, recognition of district Enterprise students for their participation in the 2016 Junior Solar Sprint Competition, and honors for the girls lacrosse and softball teams, both of which received the New York State Public High School Athletic Association’s Scholar/Athlete Team Award. The softball team’s recent appearance in the New York State Championship was also celebrated. In addition, the Board honored the academic achievements of the Class of 2016’s valedictorian Sarina Gonzalez and salutatorian Bianca Fulgencio.     

Administrators and Board members also bid farewell to professional staff members who are set to retire at the end of the school year. Congratulations to Centre Avenue Principal Timothy Silk (27 years) and teacher Diane Rafferty (38 years), East Rockaway Junior-Senior High School mathematic teachers Leslie Klein (23 years) and Mary Orzano (40 years), and Rhame Avenue speech-language pathologist Geri Fedoronko (31 years) and teacher’s aide Judith Posimato (18 years).

Additional honors were bestowed upon speech-language pathologist Sabrina Mallor, who was granted tenure, and Board trustee Neil Schloth, who received the New York State School Boards Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Members of the district’s PTA units were also installed into their new positions for the 2016-17 school year.