Students Honored and Tenure Granted at BOE Meeting

Students Honored and Tenure Granted at BOE Meeting Photo

East Rockaway Junior-Senior High School’s DECA club and the accomplishments of district student-artists and musicians were highlighted at the board of education meeting on May 24.

The evening began with DECA club members giving an overview of their yearlong achievements. The club, new to the school this year, enjoyed many successes, including participating in the state level competition. District student-artists were also recognized for having their work displayed in variety of art exhibits and student-musicians were honored for their All-County honors and other achievements.

Following the student awards, 11 district employees were presented for tenure. Congratulations to Director of Pupil Personnel Services Laura Guggino-Hastings, social worker Dawn McCabe, Rhame Avenue School Principal Erik Walter, sixth-grade teacher Jack Bixhorn, kindergarten teacher Wendy Gorman and fourth-grade teacher Erin Kennedy; reading teachers Danielle Schaetzle and Sherina Lugo, science teacher Patricia Murphy, and music teachers Seanna Silver Burke and Marichelle Weill.