skip to main content

Celebrating Retirees, Students and PTA

Honored people with flowers and an award at the June Board of Education meeting thumbnail219105

There were many hugs, sweet reminiscing and celebratory honors in East Rockaway Junior-Senior High School’s auditorium during the June Board of Education meeting, as the Board and administration honored retirees, students and new PTA members.

The evening kicked off with a surprise performance by juniors Clare Acuti and Julia Walsh, who performed “For Good” from the Broadway musical “Wicked” in honor of those retiring. East Rockaway Junior-Senior High School Principal Richard Schaffer spoke kind words and farewells to retiring social studies teacher Doreen Ansel, English teacher Kathleen Curcio Payne, world language teacher Frank Cuttita and foreign language teacher Rebecca Pagan-Rodriguez. Following the junior-senior high school honorees, Rhame Avenue Elementary School Principal Dr. Ayesha McArthur took to the podium to honor retiring secretary Toni Keane, and Centre Avenue Elementary School Principal Calia Kelly spoke on behalf of retiring teacher aide Linda R. Donovan.

The retiree celebrations continued with a special highlight on retiring Superintendent of Schools Lisa Ruiz. Board Vice President Peter McNally took to the podium first to speak on behalf of Mrs. Ruiz, followed by comments from former Board President Keith Gamache, Rhame Avenue fourth grade teacher and East Rockaway Teachers Association President Gayle Beyrer, Principal Schaffer on behalf of the East Rockaway Administrators Association, incoming Superintendent James DeTommaso and Director of Pupil Personnel Services Vincent Healy, Assistant Superintendent for Finance and Operations Jacqueline Scrio, and Director of Technology and Learning Analytics Ryan Fisk. A video featuring well wishes and thanks from staff and students throughout the district was then played for all in the auditorium.

Once the recognition of the retirees concluded, attention turned to the Class of 2022 valedictorian Madeleine Prucha and salutatorian Jason Miller (not in attendance), who were then commended for their achievements by Principal Schaffer. The student celebrations continued with Physical Education, Health and Athletics Director Gary Gregory honoring the student-athletes who received Spring Scholar-Athlete recognitions.

The June 14 Board of Education meeting concluded with the installation of the new officers of the Centre Avenue and Rhame Avenue elementary schools and East Rockaway High School PTAs by Mr. DeTommaso. They are: Kathleen Acuti, Regina Buckman, Linda Carman, Heather Conklin, Holly Diamond, Alycia Fahrenkrug, Dawn Falbee, Victoria Gallagher, Joanne Harvey, Jenn Hickam, Alberta Ippolito, Lindsey Joyce, Dana Kallman, Amy Kelly, Nicole Lynch, Jeanne Marie Margolis, Heather Massa, Stephanie Nostramo, Wendy Sirchia, Katie Spiegel, Amber Tobia, Susie Travia, Melissa Vetere and Samantha Yagnisis.

Date Added: 6/17/2022